CSTO fails to recognize S. Ossetia, Abkhazia

Disappointing the Kremlin’s hopes, CSTO heads (Armenia, Belarus, Kazakhstan, Kirgizia, Tadzhikistan, Uzbekistan) meeting in Moscow have failed to recognize South Ossetia and Abkhazia, Yezhednevny zhurnal notes.

This leaves Nicaragua’s Iran-friendly Daniel Ortega as the only foreign head of state to have taken steps towards the recognition of the breakaway provinces, though his decree still has to be approved by parliament.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s